College Life · Personal

Homesickness: it happens.

Homesickness: one of the biggest issues students face when going to college.

I moved out of my mothers house when I was 21, so I was a bit older than some kids who move out once they leave high school. I wanted to take a few years to save up and go to community college in town before I moved away on my own.

At first, I was very eager to leave home. I’d finally be independent and free to do as I please. I was independent when I was growing up, but not as much as I thought.

Living without parents has it’s perks; yes, you don’t have to worry about your mom bothering you about not cleaning your room. Yes, you can play your music as loud as you want. Yes, you can eat nothing but TV dinners. This is all quaint, but personally,  I still felt sad.

The day after my mom let me go, I was sad. I was sad all day, the next day, and the next week. I just wanted to curl up in my bed and watch Netflix all day. My new home didn’t even feel like a home. Home to me was back home with my mom. The independence was nice, but I missed the morning conversations my mom and I would have. I missed watching the local news with my mom and laughing when the news anchor messed up. I missed my mom’s perfect home cooked meals. I missed it all.

It’s been two months now. I’m not as sad as I was that day she left, but it bothers me time to time. I go on with my day and try not to let it bother me. I keep busy with studying and being involved in organizations on campus. It helps push the thoughts aside.

Moving out and leaving the nest is something most of us deal with in our life time. It’s easy for some people; not so easy for others. Most of us deal with the pain of homesickness; you’re not alone. In time, it will all be okay.

 

-ss

Leave a Reply

