College Life

10 Things to do when you’re stuck at home on spring break.

It’s spring break for most colleges this time of year. Some students went to Florida, some went out to a different country, and me? I went home for spring break.

My home is a small town, three hours north of my university. My friends and I call it a retirement community. Which means: not much to do except drinking with your friends.

Here’s my list of advice (and what I’ll be doing) to live up spring break while at home:

  1. Visit friends from back home: I just recently visited one of my best friends from back home. It really made me happy to be around good people I’m comfortable with, once again.
  2. Spend time with your family: YES, actually do it. When I lived with family, I couldn’t stand being around them. Now that I’m away at college, I actually really enjoy spending time with family.
  3. Catch up on some shows on Netflix: The first part of your semester has been stressful. It’s OK to take a break and just be lazy.
  4. Take a relaxing bath: Give yourself a spa day. You deserve the relaxation. You go girl. (or guy!).
  5. Go for a drive: Take a drive around town. Let your mind wander. Go visit some old places and let your nostalgia flow.
  6. Work out: It’s not too early to start planning for your summer body.
  7. Finish reading a book: Do it. I’ve been trying to finish The Shining for 6 months now, I’m trying to get it finished by the end of spring break.
  8. Bake: Bake some cookies or some other goodies. Bake with your mom, bake with a friend.
  9. Shop local: Go try out a local store you haven’t been to yet.
  10. Go for a picnic: If the weather is actually nice out; go enjoy yourself and go for a picnic. Invite friends!

It’s the little things that count; make the most of your spring break, even if you can’t go somewhere warm and exotic!

-ss

 

Leave a Reply

