College Life · Personal

Why do we feel the need to be with someone?

I’ve been asking this question for years.

Ever since I was 16 years old, I always found myself in a relationship. I would date a guy, he would break up with me, and then a week or two later I would find myself in another relationship. It was like I didn’t know how to function on my own.

It wasn’t until I was 21 when I was finally single for a long period of time, and on my own. I quit my job, I moved three hours away from home, and I didn’t really have anyone there for me beside my mother. But, she was three hours away back home, so I was pretty much on my own.

It was hard at first, and it still is sometimes.

It seems that people feel the need to be in a relationship because people hate being lonely. You depend on yourself, and you only have yourself, which is hard to wrap your head around sometimes. Especially if you don’t have many friends at the moment, it seems like being single can be even harder at times. You don’t have people to go out with, get a drink with, to take things like this off your mind.

Recently, I’ve found that staying busy with school work or studying helps me take my mind off the loneliness. I’ve gotten involved in two groups here at Central, and it definitely takes up a lot of my time now. I’m still trying to figure out how to deal with loneliness but here’s my best advice I have for now:

  1. Read a book, graphic novel, etc.
  2. Studying extra hard for all your classes.
  3. Join a group or club on campus. Join two.
  4. Work extra hours, make some more money.
  5. Pick up a hobby or a craft that will take up lots of time.
  6. Take a walk. Maybe play some Pokemon Go again?
  7. Go on and adventure and take lots of pictures.
  8. Reconnect with a friend from high school.

Do you guys have any other tips with dealing with loneliness and being single? I’d love to hear them; drop some ideas in the comments.

-ss

Leave a Reply

